Chelsea fury as FA confirm NO action against Burnley’s Barnes for Matic challenge

first_imgAshley Barnes will not face any retrospective action over his challenge on Nemanja Matic during Burnley’s 1-1 draw with Chelsea on Saturday.The Clarets forward caught Matic just above his left ankle with a dangerous studs-up tackle in the second half of the Premier League clash at Stamford Bridge.Barnes was not even booked by referee Martin Atkinson, while Matic was sent off for his angry reaction, leaving Jose Mourinho furious.The Blues boss went on to describe the foul as “criminal” in post-match interviews and claimed: “It could be the end of Matic’s career.”But Barnes will not be hit with any punishment by the FA, after the governing body confirmed on Monday that referee Atkinson had seen the incident. Ashley Barnes 1last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *