Chile, Boyz clash today in friendly

first_imgJamaica’s Reggae Boyz will face hosts Chile at Estadio Sausalito in Viña del Mar in a friendly match today as part of preparations for the upcoming Copa America Centenario. Match time is 6:30 p.m. The third-ranked Chile, under new manager Juan Antonio Pizzi, have been very inconsistent recently and will be hoping for a good result against Jamaica. In South American World Cup qualifying they lost recently to Uruguay (3-0) and Argentina (2-1) before defeating Venezuela 4-1. The Reggae Boyz were the invited team for last year’s edition of Copa America in Chile, but lost all three matches by 1-0 scorelines. Coach Winfried Sch‰fer will be hoping on an improved showing in the tournament this time. Juan Antonio Pizzi has largely stuck to the players who earned the Copa title under Jorge Sampaoli last year with the likes of Alexis Sanchez, Arturo Vidal and Eduardo Vargas as the key men once again. Reggae Boyz team manager Roy Simpson told The Gleaner earlier this week: “The Chile game is to look at the local players and areas that need addressing.” LAST WARM-UP Like Jamaica, Chile are preparing for the Copa Centenario tournament and today’s clash with the Reggae Boyz is the last warm-up before they play Argentina, Bolivia, and Panama in the tournament in June. Jamaica will be looking to hit form before they take on Venezuela, Mexico and Uruguay in the Copa America Centenario. With the injury to Darren Mattocks, all eyes will be on Giles Barnes to find the ball in the back of the net alongside Dever Orgill, Simon Dawkins, Clayton Donaldson and Allan Ottey. Sch‰fer has already said that today’s match is a big chance for the local-based Reggae Boyz to impress, therefore, Montego Bay United’s Ottey, who has been with the squad for some time, and Andrew Vanzie of Humble Lion, Harbour View’s Rosario Harriott, and Portmore Michael Binns could see some action as Jamaica prepares for the Copa America tournament and crucial World Cup qualifiers against Panama and Haiti in September The squad is: Gareth McLeary, Ryan Thompson, Michael Hector, Dever Orgill, Clayton Donaldson, Giles Barnes, Jobi McAnuff, Duwayne Kerr, Je-Vaughn Watson, Lee Williamson, Simon Dawkins, Adrian Mariappa, Kemar Lawrence, Jermaine Taylor, Ricardo Morris, Damano Solomon, Andrew Vanzie, Rosario Harriott and Allan Ottey.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *