Ex-PCC chiefs Bajwa, Dullo Congs RS candidates from Punjab

first_imgNew Delhi, Mar 10 (PTI) Former Union ministers Ashwani Kumar and M S Gill were today denied renomination to the Rajya Sabha by Congress, which made former Punjab PCC chiefs Partap Singh Bajwa and Shamsher Singh Dullo its candidates for the coming polls to the Upper House from the state.By nominating Bajwa, Congress has sought to reward him for making way for Amarinder Singh as PCC chief a few months ago, ahead of the crucial assembly elections scheduled early next year.With the nomination of Dullo, a prominent Dalit leader, Congress has sought to woo Jats and Dalits, who comprise a sizeable section in the poll-bound state.Tomorrow is the last date for filing of nominations.”Congress President Sonia Gandhi has nominated Pratap Singh Bajwa and Shamsher Singh Dullo as the party nominees for Rajya Sabha election for the state,” AICC general secretary and in-charge of party affairs in Punjab Shakeel Ahmed told PTI.Bajwa, till the other day, was known as a prominent detractor of Amarinder, but Rahul Gandhi appeared to have succeeded in bringing about unity in the state Congress which is out of power for the past nine years now.Congress President Sonia Gandhi finalised the names for Rajya Sabha nominations today after holding consultations with various leaders.Sources said Amarinder had suggested nominating Sunil Jakhar, a Jat and former CLP leader in the state. The name of Dalit leader and singer Hans Raj Hans, who has joined the Congress a few days ago, was also being considered earlier but was dropped at the last minute.advertisementBajwa and Dullo will file their nominations in Chandigarh tomorrow on seats that are falling vacant due to retirement of Kumar and Gill, both of whom have enjoyed two consecutive terms to the Upper House. PTI SPG SKC ZMNlast_img read more